Florida Auto Insurance Laws Every Driver Needs to Know
Did you know that 26.7 % of Florida drivers are uninsured despite auto insurance being mandatory in the state? The Florida auto insurance laws are unique, and being caught uninsured can get you into serious trouble with the law. If you just moved into Fort Lauderdale, FL, Coastal wealth insurance LLC recommends knowing the Florida car insurance laws, penalties, and coverage options. To get you started, here is what you need to know.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Florida
The law requires that all drivers carry auto insurance with personal injury protection (PIP) not less than $10,000 and Property damage liability not less than $10,000. The two coverages are designed to cover for your injuries and other people’s property. Coastal wealth Insurance LLC also recommends buying bodily injury liability to pay for medical bills of injured parties in the event of an accident.
Florida is a No-Fault State
Being a no-fault state means that every driver is responsible for their own injuries—it doesn’t matter who was at fault. That’s why you are required to have Personal Injury Protection (PIP). However, if you cause an accident that causes more damage or injuries than your policy can cover, the person can sue you for the injuries or damage—another reason why you need bodily injury liability.
Insurance Laws in Florida
Like any other state, Florida has clearly explained insurance laws for all drivers. The law requires all licensed drivers to buy policies from licensed insurance companies in Florida before registering or legally operating the vehicle in the state. If you choose to move out of the state, you must turn in your vehicle registration and license plate before canceling the policy.
Not sure where to buy auto insurance in Fort Lauderdale FL? Worry no more because Coastal Wealth Insurance LLC professionals can help you find the type of policy you’re looking for. Try us today.